Wednesday, December 31, 2014

A FATHER'S FIGHT { cover reveal & giveaway! }

If you haven't already done so, I highly suggest you pick up JB Salsbury's FIGHTING series. I started with FIGHTING THE FALL and just loved it to pieces. I then bought the previous ones in a box set when they were on sale for 99 cents (good deal, yeah?). Now, I haven't quite read them; I did, however, skim them. My to-read list for books I've bought/one-clicked is su-u-u-uper long, but so is my NetGalley and tour list -- NetGalley and tours get first dibs of my time. So, eventually, I'm sure, I'll get the other FIGHTING books done and under my belt. Knowing that this book was coming, I paid super close attention to Blake and Layla's first book, FIGHTING TO FORGIVE. I'll definitely be revisiting it, though.
 
{ cover reveal } !

 
 Life changes in the span of a heartbeat. One, tiny heartbeat.

Blake and Layla have lived through disappointment and regret, only finally finding relief with the powerful love they have for each other. A love they intend to fight to keep.

They’ve had to forgive each other, but can they truly move forward without facing the pain of the past?

Layla’s been avoiding the phone calls. Nine months pregnant and exhausted, she doesn’t want the complication. But she can’t run from the truth. Whoever’s calling was there eighteen years ago. Unlike her, he remembers the night that changed the course of her life, and he’s ready to talk.

Blake’s preoccupied with an email, a few simple sentences sent through cyberspace that have the capability to rob him of his sanity, his freedom, and the people he loves most in the world. When he’s called home for a mysterious reason, leaving Layla isn’t ideal, but hope for reconciliation combined with his brother’s secrecy ignites a curiosity he refuses to ignore.

Putting the pain behind them is no longer an option.

To get the answers they need, they must face the past and open up old wounds that threaten to bleed them dry.





preorder on || amazon
add A FATHER'S FIGHT to your || goodreads
 
and of course, the
 
{ giveaway } .
 

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

review || PAXTON'S PROMISE { blog tour }




























Paxton's Promise by L.P. Dover

Publisher: Books by L.P. Dover, LLC (12/29/2014)
Series: Gloves Off, book 3
Genre: Sport Romance
Source: InkSlinger
Buy It From || amazon | b&n | iTunes || goodreads

My Rating: ★★★★1/2







She hates him, yet she can’t get him out of her mind.
Female Bantamweight fighter, Gabriella Reynolds, has a bad habit of falling for forbidden fighters. Enter Paxton Emerson. He’s tall, tattooed, and the current UFC Light Heavyweight Champion. Everyone wants a piece of him, and he only has eyes for her. Through no choice of her own, she’s fallen in his debt and he’s now demanding payment. Too bad it doesn’t involve currency. Gabby’s decision to fulfill her promise to him ultimately brings out her true feelings, but also spurs the unwanted attention of another. 
Rage’s fixation on his newest obsession reaches dangerous levels. Unfortunately, Paxton Emerson has become a roadblock to his end goal and needs to be removed from the equation—by any means necessary.

Gabby will do anything to save Pax, but what happens when she’s the one who needs saving?


- - -


- - -

 
USA Today Bestselling author, L.P. Dover, is a southern belle residing in North Carolina along with her husband and two beautiful girls. Before she even began her literary journey she worked in Periodontics enjoying the wonderment of dental surgeries.

Not only does she love to write, but she loves to play tennis, go on mountain hikes, white water rafting, and you can’t forget the passion for singing. Her two number one fans expect a concert each and every night before bedtime and those songs usually consist of Christmas carols.


Aside from being a wife and mother, L.P. Dover has written over nine novels including her Forever Fae series, the Second Chances series, and her standalone novel, Love, Lies, and Deception. Her favorite genre to read is romantic suspense and she also loves writing it. However, if she had to choose a setting to live in it would have to be with her faeries in the Land of the Fae.




 connect with L.P. Dover || FACEBOOK | GOODREADS | WEBSITE | TWITTER | PINTEREST
spotify username: authorlpdover for book playlists!

- - -


check out blurbs & other fun stuff from the GLOVES OFF series over on the double cover reveal post!


- - -
{ review } .


As stated in my RYLEY'S REVENGE blog tour post.... "one does not simply get the opportunity to do cover reveals for this series and not want to read the books. I mean... go look at the covers again and say you don't have any desire to read the books".

And while I didn't give it a 5...

I liked it better than RYLEY'S REVENGE. Don't get me wrong -- I loved Ryley and Ashleigh, and loved seeing them again in this book, but there's just something about Gabby and Paxton that just got to me. I knew right away in RR that I was going to love watching Gabby and Paxton give in to one another, and I was right.

Now, rewind just a tad.

When I reviewed RR, I didn't find it 100% necessary to have read the previous books. You could get the gist of their history from the book you were reading. That wasn't entirely the case with PAXTON'S PROMISE. There were parts of the whole Kyle/Kacey/Tyler & Gabby 'affair' thing that would have been nice to have some background on it. Don't get me wrong -- I was able to follow through with the story fine without them, I just feel that of RR and PP -- I would have benefited more from reading TYLER'S UNDOING... 

So. 

PAXTON'S PROMISE.

If you haven't read any of the books and met the characters already, both Paxton and Gabby are in the fighting industry. Both are on the up-and-up. Paxton, however, does have a brief history with illegal fighting, but he's clean now.

In RYLEY'S REVENGE, Paxton takes Gabby and Ashleigh to the illegal underground ring to, in a round about way, 'save' Ryley. However, by doing so, Gabby promises Paxton to do whatever for him. When all was said and done, Paxton gives her a few weeks to get back to basics before taking her up and making her 'pay her dues'.

Pax has had a major thing for Gabby for a long time. In payment for the fight club, he wants Gabby to move in with him for a month. 
"...I'm going to extend the month."
"Don't you think this is a bit extreme? Wouldn't a week suffice?"
His expression grew serious. "You obviously have no idea how far out I put my neck on the line for you. I think a month is being very generous."
...and as an outsider? Let me tell you... with how scary and dark and straight up dangerous that illegal fight ring is? I think a month is pretty generous too. Granted... moving in with a person as payment, but with the thought you won't touch them... 'eh, Pax, I think you're the one missing out. 

He says he doesn't expect anything, and eventually he even begins to ignore her -- he realizes that maybe Gabby doesn't have an ounce of feelings for him afterall.

In the midst of this, Gabby manages to change her 'sentence' to half the time; however, also during this time, she starts to experience a stalker.

Now.

I called the stalker right away. The words said person says, the way said person acts... it just was roll-your-eyes-worthy. 

Now. (...again).

I did think, about halfway through, that perhaps I was wrong. I wasn't, but LP definitely made me doubt myself.

Regardless of 'calling the stalker' and finding the notes corny yet still creepy, I enjoyed watching Pax and Gabby's relationship blossom. Pax is a guy of promises -- throughout the book, he's throwing out promises to Gabby.

...but, true to his word, he keeps every single one. Major props to you, Paxton. I also appreciated that he was always honest with Gabby, even from the get-go. When she asked if he made more money legally or illegally, he doesn't hesitate -- he tells her the truth and backs it up.

At some point, I need to go back and read the novellas and TYLER'S UNDOING, just to get a better understanding of the books. Hopefully I get to it before Cam's story but it may not happen. I am, though, without a doubt, excited to watch Cam fall and come full circle in CAMDEN'S REDEMPTION. He was a cold-hearted asshat of a bastard in RYLEY'S REVENGE, but you could already see in PAXTON'S PROMISE that he was starting to have a change of heart. He doesn't think that life will ever go back the way it was; he feels he has nothing, will never have anything, and will be alone.

I can't wait to see the female who mends him back together again...!

Saturday, December 27, 2014

review || A NECESSARY SIN { blog tour }



 









A Necessary Sin by Georgia Cates

Publisher: Georgia Cates Books (12/29/2014)
Series: Sin Trilogy, book 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: InkSlinger
Buy it { amazon & bn links soon } ibooks || Goodreads

My Rating: ★★★★1/2




Bleu MacAllister is consumed. A horrific childhood incident has caused every decision in her life to revolve around bringing a monster to justice. With years spent studying The Fellowship, an organized crime brotherhood of liars, thieves, and killers, Bleu will rely on her skills as a special agent to cut Thane Breckenridge off at the knees. But walking hand in hand with retribution means risking collateral damage, in the form of Breckenridge’s son Sinclair—until Sin becomes so much more than Bleu bargained for. She’s always known this undertaking would place her life in danger—she never imagined her heart would be as well.

The Next Sin (February 9, 2015) || goodreads

One Last Sin (March 23, 2015) || goodreads


about Georgia Cates || Georgia resides in rural Mississippi with her wonderful husband, Jeff, and their two beautiful daughters. She spent fourteen years as a labor and delivery nurse before she decided to pursue her dream of becoming an author and hasn’t looked back yet.

When she’s not writing, she’s thinking about writing. When she’s being domestic, she’s listening to her iPod and visualizing scenes for her current work in progress. Every story coming from her always has a song to inspire it.

Representation: All questions regarding subsidiary rights for any of my books, inquiries regarding foreign translation and film rights should be directed to Jane Dystel of Dystel & Goderich.

connect with georgia || facebook | twitter | website | newsletter | goodreads | amazon author page

- - -

{ teaser }
Sinclair Breckenridge’s POV

“I’m in the business of boundaries and limits. I’m aware of what mine are and how far I’m willing to go to get my job accomplished. It can include lying and sometimes stealing.” I wait a moment for driving the last nail into the coffin. “And perhaps the occasional killing.”
“How do you feel when you do those things?”
“Powerful.” I purposely choose that word because it’s the one she used to describe how she felt when she brought Duff to his knees. I want her to see just how similar we are.
She watches out the window for a minute before speaking again. “Do you like the way it feels?”
I can’t lie. I get a high from it. “Very much.”
Another minute passes. “Okay.”
What? “Just … okay?”
“Would you like me to be horrified?” she asks. “I can do that if it would make you feel better or improve your opinion of me.”
She’s no fucking Pollyanna. So I guess there’s no reason for her to pretend to be. “No. Okay works for me.”
I’m not sure if I should be disturbed by her lack of appall. It feels like a double standard to be shocked by an absence of dismay.
My God, has the pot met the kettle? “I wish I could get inside your head.”
“No, you don’t,” she says. “My mind is a dark place to be.”
I think I may have met the perfect woman. In her eyes, I’m not a monster at all.

- - -

{ review } .


I was extremely torn with this book.

I loved the prologue... but after that, it took a good little bit for me to feel invested in the story. I went back and forth, back and forth -- I liked it, I trudged through it, I liked it and couldn't put it down, to oh my goodness, I needed something else to read.


However, in the end -- I liked the book. I wouldn't necessarily say I loved the book, but I enjoyed it well and good, and am invested enough in it to want THE NEXT SIN and ONE LAST SIN released yesterday... because I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS


To be fair.... The last 25% or so of the books was a can't-put-it-down type of read for me.


Surely Sin doesn't just let her walk away. Besides, there's still so much for them to talk about! Oy vey...


I guess my biggest issue with this book was Bleu --


Sin stood up against the Brotherhood for her; he's beaten to a bloody pulp for her; he shares things with her he's told no one -- heck, at the forefront of it all, he allows her in his home then shares a secret with her even his mother (estranged in bits as she may be) doesn't know. And when it's Bleu's turn to do the same? Yeah, she fails.


I have a difficult time with books about deception. I understand that it happens. I completely understand Bleu's reasons for infiltrating herself into the Breckenridge household. But once she started to have feelings for Sin, she should have altered her course. Sure, she does a bit when her opportunity to complete her mission is right in front of her, but in the end... she still is trying to find ways to make her wanted outcome complete.



By falling in love with Sin, she knows that what she plans on doing will ruin everything. Sin is not just a man -- he's in the equivalent of a Scottish mafia (but, as Sinclair points out, the mafia is Italian, and he is a Scot). While Bleu is being dishonest about her intentions, Sin is falling for her in ways he never thought possible. He knows what claiming a woman outside of the Brotherhood can and will do to him. He's just hopeful that due to his being in charge of the group in the near future, that the Brotherhood will see past it. As stated a little bit above, he takes the necessary steps to allow Bleu, an outsider, into the group, even though there are men in the Brotherhood who insist that what Bleu says of herself is false -- she looks too much like Sin's father's dead American lover to not be Amanda's daughter.

I'm curious as to what the following books will go through. I wonder how Sin will deal with everything. I wonder how far Bleu will go. I wonder how the Brotherhood will react when they learn that Sin doesn't abide by their wants.

...I'm curious about the true reasons Amanda died. I'm guessing it has a lot to do with the Brotherhood.

"I love you like a fucking lunatic. It's going to kill me to watch you walk out the door but I understand why you must do it. It isn't safe for you to stay. I want you to go until I have time to figure out how to handle this with the brotherhood. I'm going to make it okay with them, and after I do, I'll come for you."
He has no idea who he's dealing with. I can't be found if I don't want to be. 
 


...sorry, Bleu; my money's on Sin.

Oh, I can't wait for the rest of the books! 

Monday, December 22, 2014

review || MARKED

I want to first start this out by saying, every now and again, you score really, really well on the one-click free books run. And sometimes you'll read good book after good book after good book, only occasionally finding one author that you just don't quite jive with.

Back in... oh, maybe June? I one-clicked Cristin Harber's SAVAGE SECRETS and Rebecca Zanetti's BLIND FAITH.
 
Let me tell you: this was the case of good book after good book (and if I recall, the other one-click I did was the one I didn't quite jive with). After reading these two exceptionally phenomenal (on the Mignon-scale) books, I went on a Cristin Harber binge, as WINTERS HEAT was free, rumor had it, SWEET GIRL was on it's way, and then Cristin was looking for reviewers for CRUSHED/GAMBLED -- so naturally I devoured the entire series.
 
I had every intention to revisit Rebecca's writing with the previous two books in the SIN BROTHERS series that BLIND FAITH belongs too...
 
I just never did.
 
My NetGalley account started to roll; I was finding tours I wanted to be a part of.
 
My reading-for-me (not that my review books aren't for me -- I do get to chose them after all) time dwindled and Rebecca became slightly forgotten. Oh, not completely -- I did revisit BLIND FAITH when I was in a reading slump, but I never picked up those other books (and dang, do I need to; especially before Jory's book comes out).
 
And then MARKED popped up on NetGalley -- I saw Rebecca's name and pulled up my Nook; sure enough, she was one and the same as the author stamped on BLIND FAITH.
 
Request.
 
I was sure I wouldn't be approved -- as I always am sure when it's a book I really, really want -- but I crossed my fingers anyway; and when I got that lovely email...
 
Oh joy...!
 
I'm so glad I got a chance to revisit her style, even though DARK PROTECTORS is a bit different than SIN BROTHERS.
 
-- I'm also learning to really enjoy the paranormal scene...
 
 







Marked by Rebecca Zanetti

Publisher:eKensington (12/22/2014)
Series: Dark Protectors, book 7
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: NetGalley
Buy it from
Amazon | BN || Goodreads

My Rating: ★★★★★

 

Janie Kayrs has known Zane almost her whole life. He was her friend in the dream world. She trusted him. But that was before he kidnapped her, spiriting her away to an isolated cabin to learn what her dreams never told her. Like how dangerous he looks. How he got on the wrong side of the negotiating table. And how much sexier he is in real life…

Zane is a battle-hardened warrior, used to command and solitude. But Janie has drawn him from the minute they met. His need for her could destroy everything he’s worked for, but the risk is too sweet not to take it. They call her the Chosen One. But when it comes down to the questions of peace or war, life or death, safety or passion, it will be Janie who makes the choice…

Love is about to start conquering…

connect with Rebecca || goodreads | amazon author page | website | facebook | twitter | pinterest


{ review } .
 
I feel like I often begin my 4.5 and 5 star reviews with something along the lines of, "Oh, this book," but...
 
...oh, this book...!
 
The book opens in Janie's dream world; she is five years old and is looking for her friend -- her friend who she only ever meets in this dream world. This place is her special place; it's a place where she goes when she's not quite awake, not quite sleeping. You later learn that she gets there when she's in a meditative state.
 
In her dream world, Janie often found answers. She also often learned of things there were to come.
"Who are you?"
"Janet," she said. "You're Zane."
He stopped moving. "How do you know my name?"
She shrugged. "I dreamed about you. About us being friends and ending the war."
"What war?" he asked, frowning and looking around again.
"It hasn't started yet." But boy, things were about to get bad.
{...} Zane focused down on her, his shoulders relaxing. "Janie?"
"Yep. Janet Isabella Paulsen." If things worked out right, she'd have a new name soon.
Zane grinned. "You're too small for that name."
"It's still my name."
He shook his head. "How about I call you Janie Belle?"
And so their unlikely friendship begins. Unlikely because Janie is human (her new name change comes from her also-human mother meeting and mating Talen Kayrs, a vampire), and Zane is a vampire.

Also? Gotta say... he calls her Janie Belle 'forever', and I just love it to pieces. "Janie Belle" and "Belle" -- you know, I'm not much of an endearment kind of gal, but sometimes they just work and something about big, bad, dark Zane calling his little something such a sweet name... Just does it for me. Oh, who am I kidding, every nickname these strong men give all their mates in this book just do it for me, even Conn's nickname for his Moira, Daitlin -- meaning brat. Gah, I'd like to read their story.

Over the next many years, they meet again and again in this dream world; there's also another boy who is there, Kalin. The three of them grow up together, yet apart, as they don't truly meet in person.

When Zane's father dies, Janie can no longer find him. He becomes lost to her.

Then the war she saw as a child comes to play -- it's a war between the different species of paranormal, and they all want the book of Arias...

...as well as Janie.

When the demon representatives arrive to the peace talks, Janie is shocked when Zane walks in.
A demon.
Shock and hurt chillder her, until slowly, with a sure burn, the fire of fury banished the cold. Pure, raw, female fury.
She didn't know him. Maybe she never had. Even so, the sense of betrayal failed to mask the feelings she'd harbored for him. Deep and real. Her focus narrowed, and Zane's chin slowly lowered, his nostrils flaring like a wolf's accepting a challenge.
 As their gazes clashed, a silent war cry resonated through the unnatural physics in the chamber so deep in the earth. The protective walls morphed, and the immortals all around tensed.
"Take it easy, Jane," Dage whispered.
She nodded and exhaled slowly, allowing anger to replace the pain. Her human emotions didn't have the strength the affect the mutated quantum physics keeping them safe.
Zane's emotions did.
Zane wants Janie. He's always wanted Janie.

He was just aware enough that with his lineage, he was no good for her. And now with this ever-looming war and deadly virus... he cannot have her.

But in a moment of passion, when they both decide to have just that one night, he is overcome by his emotions and ends up marking her, and therefore mating her. And because she's mated to him, she can have no other, even when she dies, as his 'species', if you will, mates for life.

When he realizes what he's done, he's sure Janie is going to have his balls (after all, the previous day she fought him pretty well, and his nether-regions was a bit bruised). He wants her; he's already told the entire peace talks that when all was said and done, regardless what everyone else wanted Janie was his -- she'd been his since they were kids. But now that this war is going on and he's kidnapped Janie... his nether-regions being bruised is the least of his worries. He's sure he will die within days, and he's bound Janie to him for eternity.

When Janie realizes what he's done, at first she's a bit livid (the markings hurt); then she turns a bit sad -- she loves him, has always loved him, but she's afraid that maybe (and it bothers her to even think it) he mated with her to gain access to her gifts (a side benefit of mating was that each mate takes on the other's special attributes: psychic abilities, etc).

I really liked this story. I enjoyed how Rebecca made sense of weather patterns by what was happening in the 'underworld', if you will. When the peace talks began, there was fear of all the anger causing a terrible earthquake, as they were right under a serious fault line. When Janie's uncle, Dage, who was also the head of Realm, was upset (to say it kindly), the skies were gray and furious, matching his mood.

I loved that Talen considers Janie his own. There's no 'step' anything. She is his daughter, through and through, and he'd do anything to protect her.

And then there's Zane.

He won't admit it, but one of his biggest fears is that he relates more to his demonic side. Even when upset, his voice drops to that low octave. He doesn't feel he has anything to offer Janie, and that kills him because he wants her for his. At one point, he admits to her that the Zane she knew in their childhood dream world was not the real him -- he was escaping the wrath of his uncle and could pretend in her dream world.

But no worries, Zane Kyllwood has a soft side that Janie sees clearly.

I also like that Janie, although just a mere mortal with certain abilities, is extremely head strong and wants to help fight her family's battles. Her father taught her to defend herself and she wants to help. It irks her when Zane asks, then tells, then essentially manhandles her, that he wants to lock her up and won't allow her to fight. Even from their first person-to-person meeting, Zane wants and needs to protect her.

I could easily go on and on about this book. I just. Loved. It. And that little dream world at the end? Well, I was a bit taken aback by it, due to what goes on in Zane, Kalin, and Janie's dream world, but regardless -- the end? I would like to see that book. Granted, it would be a while down the road, I'm sure, but Rebecca, I expect to see that book ;)

Oh, lastly, gotta add -- pretty much the entire 'end scene', after the chapters go by in months? Totally near tears... and then the waterworks happened.

So be prepared with a tissue or two or a box.

Friday, December 19, 2014

day 3 || ENFORCE { blog tour }

LAST DAY!
Last bunch of goodness!

And this badboy released YESTERDAY. Have you bought your copy yet? No? Maybe this last excerpt will entice you...

Please tell me you're super excited. I know that I am...! {Did you not get that yet...?}






There’s two sides to every story...
And ours? Isn't pretty...
Then again, what's pretty about the mafia?
Trace Rooks, that’s what.
But she only wants one of us, and I'll kill him before I let him have her.
The only problem?
We're cousins.
And she may just be our long lost enemy.
Whoever said college was hard, clearly didn't attend Eagle Elite University.
Welcome to hell also known as the Mafia where blood is thicker than life, and to keep yours? Well, keep your friends close, and your enemies?

Even closer...


 iTunes     Barnes & Noble    KOBO     Smashwords
    



Enforce/Nixon by Rachel Van Dyken from Becca the Bibliophile on Vimeo.






Enforce/Chase by Rachel Van Dyken from Becca the Bibliophile on Vimeo.


Chase 
When we reached the dorms, she began to shake. I didn’t know what to do to fix it. She reached in her purse but couldn’t seem to get her hands past the barrier of the half-opened zipper.
With a curse, I pulled out my card and swiped it across the access code for the elevator.
My hand naturally fell to her back as I gently pushed her in.
The elevator was big — but it may as well have been a shoebox. Every breath she took, every shudder that wracked her body destroyed my sanity.
I wanted to touch her.
Instead, I did the only thing I knew I could do that wouldn’t flag me as being disloyal to blood.
I stood as close as possible. My hand hovered near her skin, feeling like it was damn-near singeing from the heat her body was giving off.
When we finally made it into their room, Mo started yelling.
“He’s an ass! I know I shouldn’t defend him, but if he would have known they were your grandma’s shoes—”
I put my hand in the air. “I don’t get it. What’s so important about—”
“She’s dead, you asshole!”
Yeah. I’d forgotten that.
Like a complete jackass.
Traces face fell as more tears streamed across her plump lips.
And the pieces of the puzzle fell together. Yes, she was upset about what Nixon had done, but even when he shamed her in front of everyone it wasn’t the fact that he’d embarrassed her — it was the fact that he’d unintentionally ripped her heart out and stomped on it.
By the looks of her clothes on the first day, she didn’t have a lot of money or possessions, meaning only one thing. The shoes from her Grandma? Probably one of the only things she had of value.
With a curse, I stomped out of the room. Tex followed, eerily quiet for a guy who normally talked his ass off.
“So…” Tex shoved his hands in his pockets once we were in the safety of the elevator. “…that was—”
“Shut the hell up,” I barked and stormed out of the elevator so he wouldn’t follow me.
Tex barked out a laugh and went in the opposite direction. With shaking hands, I dialed the number to the closest supplier.
“I need your most expensive boots from the new spring collection.”
“I’d be happy to help you with your purchase, sir, but you need to know those are specific boots are—”
“Get them for me. Now. I need them by six.”
“Six?”
“In the morning,” I said slowly. “Size nine.”
“Of course, sir.”
The line went dead.
But adrenaline continued to surge through my veins. I didn’t know what else to do except sit outside the dorms and wait until the boots arrived.
So that’s exactly what I did.
I sat in the shadows and waited. By the time five-thirty rolled around, I got another phone call, and the boots were delivered into my hands by one of my associates.
I wanted to put them at her door. I wanted to be the guy to apologize, and I wasn’t doing it on Nixon’s behalf. No, I was doing it for me.
Cursing the Mafia the entire way up to her floor, I clenched the boots in my hand and went to her room.
I’d written a note.
It was lame.
Who wrote notes? It was like I’d reverted to middle school, but I wanted to do something special, something extra. Hell, after that shitty day, I should have put a bottle of wine in one of the boots with a sedative.
I raised my hand to knock. Visions of Trace opening the door filled my head. She’d, of course, give me a hug, invite me in. Maybe it would be the start of our relationship. I’d slowly slink into her life and we’d… what? What exactly would happen?
She wasn’t one of us. She didn’t belong in our world.
I put my hand down and stared at the door.
Our future was over before it had even begun.
“Chase?” A female called out my name. “Is that you?”
I turned to the left where Molly, a past booty-call stood wearing nothing but a long tight t-shirt and a smile.
“Yeah.” I looked away.
“You wanna come over for a bit?”
No. I didn’t.
I wanted to knock on the door.
But instead of knocking, and potentially ruining a girl’s life, a girl already on her road to ruination, I stepped back and shook my head.
“Maybe another time, Molly.”
As my footsteps echoed across the floor, I wondered. One day, would I look back on this moment? And wish… I would have knocked?







Elite:



Elect:

Entice:
 B&N

Elicit: 


BANG BANG:

 B&N






Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she's not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.

She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband and their snoring Boxer, Sir Winston Churchill. She loves to hear from readers! You can follow her writing journey at 
www.rachelvandykenauthor.com


 
 


Thursday, December 18, 2014

release day || ENFORCE { ! }










There’s two sides to every story...
And ours? Isn't pretty...
Then again, what's pretty about the mafia?
Trace Rooks, that’s what.
But she only wants one of us, and I'll kill him before I let him have her.
The only problem?
We're cousins.
And she may just be our long lost enemy.
Whoever said college was hard, clearly didn't attend Eagle Elite University.
Welcome to hell also known as the Mafia where blood is thicker than life, and to keep yours? Well, keep your friends close, and your enemies?

Even closer...


 
iTunes     Barnes & Noble    KOBO     Smashwords

 


      




















Elite:


Elect:

Entice:
 B&N

Elicit: 


BANG BANG:

 B&N






Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she's not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.

She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband and their snoring Boxer, Sir Winston Churchill. She loves to hear from readers! You can follow her writing journey at